Post-Event: 2017 Singapore Canoe Marathon

February 2, 2017 in Featured, News by Singapore Canoe Federation


Singapore Canoe Marathon Builds on Its Legacy of Empowering Paddlers

Photo Credit: Dennis Lee / Silverskye Productions

The competition kicks off this year with record number of 800 canoeists of all ages competing in forty-four different categories.

A wave of colours hit Marina Reservoir this morning, as the island’s largest and most urbanised catchment played host to over 800 paddlers, who challenged distances of 6km to 30km in a test of endurance and skills.

Held for the third time at Asia’s first integrated sports, leisure, entertainment and lifestyle destination – the Singapore Sports Hub, the 2017 Singapore Canoe Marathon (SCM), Singapore’s largest canoeing event, featured a record number of 15 boat types and its largest repertoire of categories, including uniformed group, paracanoe and kids events.

SCM is a strategic initiative to promote the sport of Canoeing and encourage healthy living through sport. The theme, “Let’s Go Canoeing!” emboldens paddlers of all ages and skill levels to paddle together while enjoying the scenic city landscape. The race route runs
through some of the most iconic Singapore landmarks, including Gardens by the Bay, ArtScience Museum, Esplanade and the Merlion Park.

Ms Grace Fu, Minister for Culture, Community and Youth & Leader of the House, flagged off the first wave – Senior Men K1 and K2 (30km), at 8:00am, igniting the flame of more than 36 new and returning elite paddlers from Singapore and the region.

Mr Ong Ye Kung, Minister for Education (Higher Education and Skills) & Second Minister for Defence joined in the fun, paddling in a double sit-on-top kayak with SEA Games gold medallist Mervyn Toh in the afternoon community segment.

Cheung Tsz Chung from Hong Kong Canoe Union came in first with a timing of 2:39:41 for the Senior Men K1 event. In the Senior Women K1 event, Angelica See of Nanyang Technological University broke the finish tape with a time of 2:12:45 and clinched the champion title.