

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Asian Canoe Polo Championships 2023: A Spectacular Celebration of Water Sports Excellence

Singapore, November 2023 – The Marina Bay waterfront, located in the heart of Singapore's Central Business District, bore witness to an exhilarating display of skill, teamwork, and sportsmanship during the recent Asian Canoe Polo Championships (ACPC) 2023 from 9 to 12 November. Organized by Singapore Canoe Federation (SCF), ACPC 2023 welcomed 23 teams from seven Asian national federations across four categories (Men, Women, U21 Men, U21 Women).

The climactic finals on 12 November delivered intense and closely contested games played in the blistering heat, watched by over a thousand spectators. In the U21 Men's final, Chinese Taipei secured victory with a 7-2 win over Japan, while in the U21 Women's final, Singapore triumphed over Malaysia with a score of 8-5.

In the Women's final, defending champions Singapore experienced a close match, ultimately falling to Chinese Taipei with a score of 1-2. And in the Men's category, Chinese Taipei and Iran were declared joint winners, due to unforeseen weather conditions, which prompted the cancellation of the finals match amid lightning warnings.

The lively closing ceremony unfolded under an overcast sky and a light drizzle. Mr Desmond Lee, Singapore's Minister for National Development and Minister-in-Charge of Social Services Integration, graced the event and personally awarded medals to the winners.

Outstanding individual performances were also highlighted, with Mohammad Ali Molaei (Iran), Leow Fang Hui (Singapore), Chen Syu-Jia (Chinese Taipei), and Azlyn Farhana Binti Muhammad Azmi Tan (Malaysia) emerging as top scorers in their respective categories.

At the end of the ceremony, Mr Nicholas Yap, President of SCF, passed a symbolic canoe polo ball to Mr Raja Shahrul Azremel Raja Sahar, President of Malaysia Canoe Association. The biennial ACPC is scheduled to be played in Malaysia in 2025.

The medal-winning teams have secured their spots in the Canoe Polo World Championships to be held in Deqing, China next year.

"It was an exhilarating and keenly fought competition by the seven participating national federations, organized at the iconic Marina Bay," said Mr Yap.

"We are also grateful for our supporters, sponsors, and donors who contributed immensely to the success of the world-class tournament. We've brought the sport of canoe polo to the masses, and I hope that this will encourage more people to take up paddling as a lifestyle."



SINGAPORE CANOE FEDERATION 3 Stadium Drive #01-33 NSA Office Singapore 397630 +65 6344 6337 | info@scf.org.sg | www.scf.org.sg

About Singapore Canoe Federation (SCF)

Singapore Canoe Federation (SCF), established in 1971, is the National Sports Association governing Canoeing in Singapore. Comprising a dedicated team of volunteers on its Council and Executive Committee, along with passionate staff members, SCF is committed to promoting excellence in canoeing and fostering canoeing as a community sport with high standards of safety. For more information, visit https://scf.org.sg.

Media Contact

Denise Yuen Event, Marketing and Business Development Manager Singapore Canoe Federation +65 6344 6337 (Office) / +65 8318 5428 (HP)

Annex 1 – Full results of ACPC 23 Attachment 1 – Photos of Team Singapore in action

Annex 1 – Full results of ACPC 23

Men

- Gold: Chinese Taipei and Iran
- Bronze: Japan

Women

- Gold: Chinese Taipei
- Silver: Singapore
- Bronze: Iran

U21 Men

- Gold: Chinese Taipei
- Silver: Japan
- Bronze: Malaysia

U21 Women

- Gold: Singapore
- Silver: Malaysia
- Bronze: Chinese Taipei

Top scorers by category

- Men: Mohammad Ali Molaei (Iran) 22 goals
- Women : Leow Fang Hui (Singapore) 17 goals
- U21 Men: Chen Syu-Jia (Chinese Taipei) 13 goals
- U21 Women: Azlyn Farhana Binti Muhammad Azmi Tan (Malaysia) 17 goals

National federations which participated in ACPC 2023

1. Chinese Taipei



SINGAPORE CANOE FEDERATION

3 Stadium Drive #01-33 NSA Office Singapore 397630 +65 6344 6337 | info@scf.org.sg | www.scf.org.sg

- 2. Hong Kong, China
- 3. Iran
- 4. Japan
- 5. Malaysia
- 6. Singapore
- 7. Thailand