The purpose of the classification system is to minimise the impact eligible impairment types have on the outcome of competition. The ICF system of classification aims to place athletes into classes according to how much their impairment impacts on the core determinants of success in canoeing.


The ICF recognises three (3) classes for para-canoe as follows:


Typical Target Audience
LTA (Legs-Trunks-Arms)
  • Amputee
  • Neurological Impairment equivalent to incomplete lesion at S1
  • Cerebal Palsy Class 8 (CP-ISRA)
TA (Trunks-Arms)
  • Bilateral around knee amputation or significantly impaired quadriceps
  • Neurological Impairment equivalent to complete lesion at L3 level, or an incomplete lesion at L1
  • Cerebal Palsy Class 5 (CP-ISRA)
A (Arms)
  • Neurological Impairment with a complete lesion at T12 level, or an incomplete lesion at T10
  • Cerebal Palsy Class 4 (CP-ISRA)


SCF welcomes all physically disabled who are interested to try canoeing to contact the federation for a physical assessment. We will select the most appropriate classification for you based on the results of your physical assessment.